Monday, October 01, 2007

sometimes it's the little things....



I'm in Miami at the Advisor conference, and I just wanted to show one more little thing than we've been working on... I thought back to the things on "my list" that I know have always bothered me and others... This one came to mind... A teeny bit of code, and there it is. If you change your mind about the "don't show me this again," you can set it back with a preference, or you can continue to still be prompted if you've ever been burned with having design changes overwritten and you never want it to happen again....

Last week someone said we were "porting" Domino Designer to Eclipse. It's this kind of change, as well as the more dramatic editor replacements, that to me make it far more than a port. It's a rethinking, a reinvention... And it feels really good to make that dialog box go away!

4 comments:

Nate said...

Ironically, I consider this to be one of the more useful confirmation prompts in Designer. I see you've now removed the option for me to say "no" and I'm faced with simply the OK button.

What I really want is an option that says "whoops! I clicked on the design element in the wrong NSF. What I really want to do is open the design element in the master template, since you can find that in my designer bookmarks."

THAT would be a serious improvement. Allowing me to turn off a notification dialog that actually notifies me of something useful (I probably selected the wrong NSF in the bookmarks) doesn't help me much.

Now, if you can put a "do not show this again" on the dialog that says "you will not be able to undo this operation" on a table paste -- THAT would help me.

Maureen said...

The code isn't checked in yet, and the No option will certainly be added before it is :-)

Thanks for the tip on some other dialogs to track down and improve!

Rob McDonagh said...

Ahhh, bless you! Unlike Nate, I would LOVE to make this prompt go away.

He's right about the table paste dialog, though. Please take a look at that one if you have a chance.

meta said...

What I'd like is a database (or even server) option to make the dialog say "Your changes WILL be thrown away when the design is next refreshed, whether you like it or not", and disallow use of the "do not allow refresh/replace" option on design elements. There's someone on my team who keeps making design changes that are intended to be permanent in the live database, and then wondering why they disappear.